Maison Lairoux Holiday Cottages: Guest Reviews 2022

Guest Reviews 2022

2022 is looking much more promising for International travel! Here are reviews left by our guests this year so far….

Sunset in Lairoux
L’Ecurie : Allister & Susie, Oxfordshire. September 2022
Another wonderful, relaxing holiday.
We enjoyed visiting some favourite places and discovering new ones.
Thank you for the wine & nibbles whilst waiting for the sunsets.
We go home rested, tanned and a little heavier!
Look forward to visiting again.
Kite surfing at Le Phare Beach in the Vendee
L'Ecurie: Heather & Edward, Fareham. September 2022.
Third time lucky - we made it back to L'Ecurie!
Our 4th visit and very happy to find not much has changed. Same beautiful setting and excellent welcome. Our favourite beach for surf is Les Conches/Bud Bud and for birds Pointe d'Aiguillon.
Thanks for being great hosts Annette & Jason and for the wine and nibbles. A fantastic week!
Butterflies at Maison Lairoux
Le Vieux Café: Molyneaux Family, Jersey. September 2022.
We enjoyed our stay greatly, the cottage was well equipped and you were very helpful and thoughtful hosts.
Michelle, susan and I enjoyed the pool and gardens as well as the peace and quiet.
Look forward to returning in the near future.
Childrens Payground at La Faute sur Mer
Le Vieux Café: Ian, Vicky, Jamie, Charlie & Josh. Cornwall. August 2022.
Thank you for a quiet and relaxing stay (quiet being a state of mind in our case given the games around the pool!)
what a lovely corner of France!
We will see you next year!
Seagulls at La Tranche sur Mer
L'Ecurie: Elsie (9yo), Stan (4yo), Kate & Dan. Sandbach. August/September 2022
We loved the pool and all of the pool toys. We really liked the beaches that were recommended in the guide book, but there was one beach in particular that I loved - La Tranche. The beach was great for crabbing or looking for fish because the tide was always out, so there were loads of lock pools.
The house was perfect size for us, had everything that we needed. We had a barbecue a couple of times (works like a charm!)
I definitely remember staying up at least until 9.00pm to see the beautiful sunset.
Thanks for letting us stay here.
Relax by the pool at Maison Lairoux Holiday Cottages
L’Ecurie : Paul, Lou, Martha, Hattie and Florence, Hove. August 2022.
We have so enjoyed our 2 week stay in L’Ecurie. We’ve been to Puy du Fou (Amazing), O’Gliss Water Park (perfect for all ages), Chateau des Aventuriers (loads of fun), the beach and more. We’ve been in the pool every day and love the games room & gym.
We had to wait 2 years to come back but it was 100% worth it. We will miss the peaceful evenings and the long pool days! Thank you, Jason & Annette.
I had a brilliant holiday and thank you Annette & Jason for opening the pool early and I’m sad that we’re going home. I’ve also enjoyed the views.
Thanks for having us – we will be back!
Dog friendly holiday cottages in the Vendee
Le Vieux Café: Stéphane, Isabelle, Enola, Méleena, with Jake & Heywa the dogs. Reims. August 2022
Nous avons arrêté de compter le nombre de fois où nous sommes venus, mais tout ce que vous pouvons dire est que nous apprécions à chaque fois notre venue. Comme chaque année, nous ne manquons de rien, alors merci beaucoup pour votre gentillesse, votre hospitalité, et votre bonne humeur !
Nous avons hâte de revenir l’an prochain !
Parc Floral at Saint Cyr en Talmondais
Le Vieux Café: Natasha, JP, Jona & Lula, Hampshire. July/August 2022.
We have had a lovely holiday, what a beautiful spot you have here and such a well equipped gîte, you have really thought of everything!
We enjoyed a trip to the beach at La Faute sur Mer and a day out at the Chateau des Aventuriers…. We did all 3 courses, but it was a very hot day, so maybe just do 1 if it’s hot, they are fantastic though! We also visited the Parc Floral which is really close & the kids got to meet some Winnie The Pooh characters (think that’s Wednesdays).
Finally, we went to La Tranche sur Mer which was great, good for buying souvenirs and we enjoyed collecting shells as the tide went out.
We’ve made some great memories and it’s been wonderful to have the pool to cool off in and for the kids to play in…..not forgetting the fab games room!
Thanks for all the goodies on arrival & your hospitality, it’s been greatly appreciated.
Ile penotte mosaics at Les Sables d Olonne
L’Ecurie: Stuart, Naomi, Eva & Alice, Gloucestershire. July/August 2022
A long-awaited return visit to L’Ecurie. Tired from a day’s travelling, Jason & Annette were very welcoming on our arrival.
The accommodation and facilities have everything a family needs. The pool is beautiful, with the added gazebo for shade, we were able to make the most of the hot sunny days we were lucky to have all week.
The games room is particularly well equipped for both young children and teenagers. Recommend the playground at La Faute, Shell Murals at Les Sables and Nutella ice-cream!
A lovely relaxing stay.
La Tranche sur Mer Vendee
L’Ecurie: Kate, Martin & Joseph. Ilkley. August 2022
Well worth the 2 year wait!
L’Ecurie is very well equipped, lovely to sit outside eating our evening meal admiring the views.
The Games Room has everything to keep kids of all ages amused and the pool has been a godsend during the week of very high temperatures, 37-38 degrees.
Annette & Jason are such friendly, welcoming and knowledgeable hosts with some great recommendations on where to go and what to see. Thank you!
The Old Port at La Rochelle in Charente Maritime
L’Ecurie: Andy, Paula, Arlo & Elodie. Dorset. July 2022.
Thank you so much for creating this beautiful corner of the Vendée. We have had a wonderful time using the pool and games room, and the accommodation is perfect.
We enjoyed visiting the beach at La Faute sur Mer, La Rochelle, and its aquarium. Thank you for the lovely welcome gifts and your evening of hospitality on Thursday – the crisps went down a treat with the kids!
Vikings at the Puy du Fou Park in the Vendee
Le Vieux Café : Michael, Martha, Charlie & Edward. Guildford. July 2022
What a fabulous holiday ! Can’t thank Annette and Jason enough! You have been such wonderful hosts – all of your advice and tips, help in booking tickets and drinks on the terrace have really made our stay. The gîte has been perfect for a family holiday – you really have thought of everything! Our boys loved the pool and the games room (so did we!)
Particular family highlights were a day spent at Puy du Fou and a trip to O’Gliss Water Park. We also had a very peaceful boat trip, rowing ourselves around the waterways of the Marais Poitevin.
Thanks again – we’ll be back!
Dog friendly holiday cottages in the Vendee
L’Ecurie: Brian & Brenda, Lisa & Andy, plus Benson & Hedges the doggies. Oxfordshire & Lytham St Annes. July 2022
We had a wonderful welcome from Annette & Jason, our lovely hosts. Due to Covid we have missed out on coming to Lairoux for 2 years. Our past holidays here have been so good. Gite lovely and clean, with wine & biscuits left for us. Thursday was Bastille Day and our hosts invited us to an evening with them to enjoy some nibbles & wine, and to have a very belated drink of port to celebrate Jason’s big birthday a couple of years ago. Lovely evening!
Monday 18th July: 108 degreesF expected today. Lucky, we have fans in the gite to keep us cool.
Brian, Andy & Lisa had lots of use of swimming pool.
We had a couple of meals at The Cabin in La Tranche. Excellent. Need to book as frequented by locals and gets really busy. Mussels are really good.
Nothing is too much trouble for Annette & Jason, and they will always help out with any problems!
The Puy du Fou is a brilliant place to visit – ask Annette to book it for you.
This is a wonderful place for a holiday, so relaxing if you just want to chill.
We have been lucky with the weather, 2 weeks of sun, but today our last day is cloudy! Great beaches not far away.
All in all, perfect gite, well equipped and lovely friendly hosts.
Thanks Annette & Jason absolutely loved our stay with you.
Team Work at Vendee Kart
L’Ecurie: Eamonn, Joanna, Emma & Zoe. Bray, Ireland. June/July 2022
We arrived here on 25th of June for our 2 week stay. This is our fourth time visiting L’Ecurie. This trip we visited Vendée Kart and O’Gliss water Park which were both really enjoyable. We spent lots of time in the pool as the weather was great while we were here.
We also enjoyed going to the games room after dinner for a game of table tennis or pool.
The sunsets are also stunning here, and it is perfect to watch them laying on a sun bed by the pool. The house had everything we needed and more.
Thank you to Annette & Jason for being great hosts.
Red Panda at the Zoo des Sables
Le Vieux Café : Jason, Lucy, Grace Harley, Elle & Michael. Reading, Hungerford & The Wirral. July 2022
First stay in 3 years due to lockdown! Spent a lot of time in the pool. Would recommend the zoo in Les Sables d’Olonne and the Vendée Miniature was an interesting visit.
La Faute sur Mer and La Tranche are good places for food, as well as Coulon.
Thank you, Annette & Jason for another lovely stay, as always you have been very helpful and welcoming. I’m sure we will be back next year. A Bientôt.
PS: Mum says pool is better in the morning!
Val de Yon at Le Piquet Vendee
L’Ecurie : Moira & Michael, Wales. June 2022
We have had a lovely week and enjoyed our first visit to the Vendée. Annette and Jason have been wonderful hosts and have made our stay so comfortable with a very well equipped gite. The pool and games room facilities have been great.
A special thanks to Jason for sorting out our access to create a ‘Smart TV’ setting, and the outside wi-fi has been fab.
Thank you for the lovely welcome gifts, much appreciated.
Sunset on Veillon Plage
Le Vieux Café: Malc & Pam, Northampton. June 2022
Thanks for another lovely holiday in the Vendée. Nice meals out and in. Lovely house with everything in it. Hope to see you both again later in the year.
PS: The revamp is superb
L Ecurie Holiday Cottage relax by the pool
L’Ecurie: Jo, Martin, Sam & Harry, Devon. June 2022
What a wonderful place, attention to detail is 2nd to none. I want to stay forever. An exceptional week for weather 38.2 degrees in the shade!
Annette & Jason have been perfect hosts & I will be passing the word back home to all friends. We will definitely be back. Thank you so much.
Ile Penotte at Les Sables d Olonne
L’Ecurie: Lindsay & Tony, Secondigny. June 2022
Most enjoyable stay. First class accommodation & most helpful hosts. We will certainly be back again. Took trips out to La Tranche sur Mer, Les Sables d’Olonne and Rochefort – all very enjoyable. Maritime Museum at Rochefort is worth a visit. Vivre Restaurant at the Port in Rochefort very good.
Competition Winners at Maison Lairoux
L’Ecurie : Faye, Tristan & Lee. Hastings, May 2022.
Thank you so much Annette & Jason for choosing me as your competition winner! And for being so accommodating with changing dates around because of all the hoops we needed to jump through when Covid struck.
We have had such a lovely, relaxing break & we don’t want to go home.
All the information you gave us has really helped, as much as we try, we don’t understand any French, so we would have been totally lost without your help.
Your property is absolutely stunning, and we are going to miss watching all the wildlife (and your kitties!)
As we mentioned, if and when you guys come to the UK, let us know and you will have a room waiting for you at the Apollo Guest House in Hastings.
Thanks again for being awesome hosts!
Dog friendly holidays in France
L'Ecurie: Bob, Rita and Dougal (The Yorkiepoo). Bodmin, May 2022

This is the first time for many years we have stayed in a village setting, and we are so glad we did. The house is comfortable, clean and has everything you need for a relaxing break away from it all. You can, in a very short while, be at the beach and a host of other attractions if you want a more lively stay.
Your hosts, Annette & Jason, cannot be more welcoming or helpful. It is not hard to imagine a return visit in the future and just shutting down after the more hectic parts of a long vacation.
P.S. Sorry forgot to say thank you for the wine & biscuits on arrival and your hospitality on the evening of departure.
In the words of Arnie "I (we) will be back' - that's if you will have us!!
Butterfly at Maison Lairoux Holiday Cottages
L’Ecurie : Jan & Mike, Jersey April-May 2022

Another lovely week at L’Ecurie. We were so lucky with the weather – 20-23 degrees & getting no rain! Lazy time by the pool & getting langoustines (vivant) from Luçon market on a Wednesday.
Found a new restaurant Racines in Angles – great lunch – great value at €20 (entrée, plat, dessert)
Enjoyed a few glasses of Rosé with our hosts!
The beach at La Faute sur Mer
Vieux Café : Paul, Jo-Anne, Sofie & Jasmyn, Holland. April/May 2022

We had a lovely time, very relaxed and we were fortunate with lovely weather too.
We visited the coastal towns & villages nearby but also Fontenay-le-Comte, Nantes, La Rochelle and the Ile de Ré and enjoyed them all.
Best food was in La Tranche sur Mer at Le Blue Mob.
Next to the visits, we also enjoyed quiet time at the house and lovely sunsets. Thank you for the wonderful stay!
Port Bourgenay Marina
Vieux Café : Virginie, Kathinka, Louis, Nolan, Leny, Anaël, Lorena. Avril 2022.

Merci beaucoup pour cet agréable week-end de Pâques en Vendée. Nos 5 enfants se sont beaucoup plus ici !! Peut-être à une prochaine fois. Bonne continuation.
La Faute sur Mer Childrens Playground
L'Ecurie: Zoë & Dave, Cornwall. April 2022

3 nights of bliss. Such a wonderful experience that we're planning to come back next year.
The cottage is very well equipped for self catering and with children in mind. Our 3 little ones had the best time and felt very welcome and at home, easing the stress on us parents. Excellent hosts and a magical few days. Thank you!
Heading out to sea at La Rochelle
L’Ecurie : Famille Chauvin & Wojcik, Boulogne (92). Avril 2022

Toute la famille a apprécié ce séjour dans votre havre de paix. C’est tellement rare d’être accueilli dans une maison d’hôtes avec autant d’équipements (salle de jeux, gym…) et ce joli charme (la vue, le jardin)
Un grand merci pour votre accueil, Annette & Jason. Nous vous souhaitons de la réussite dans vos projets.
PS : Bravo aussi pour le manuel ‘Maison Lairoux’ avec toutes les infos pratiques. Très bien fait.
Birdwatching holiday in the Vendee
L’Ecurie : Val & Hugh, Finistère. March 2022

We have the honour to be the first guests to write in this new guest book, on our 4th visit to L’Ecurie.
We have been very fortunate with the weather, apart from the ‘red Sahara sand’, and the birdwatching has been wonderful.
We found a lovely new walk at La Tablier, and also at Triaize.
Our heartfelt thanks once again to Annette and Jason for their warm, friendly welcome.
We really appreciated the wine and nibbles they left for us, and the ‘Apéro’ times we enjoyed together!
Great tit at Maison Lairoux Holiday Cottages
Vieux Café : Steve & Beverley. Bristol. February 2022

Not our first visit to Le Vieux Café, but our first winter trip ….. Still relaxing and Annette & Jason are still as wonderful as ever! The house, as ever, feels like home and so well equipped.
It’s been a pleasure walking on the beach with hats & scarves on ….very brisk!!
We’ll definitely be back.
Shifting sands at La Faute sur Mer
Winter sun at La Tranche sur Mer
Port Bourgenay Marina in the Vendee




Annette & Jason Khan
Annette Khan (Entreprise Individuelle)
Maison Lairoux Holiday Cottages
3 rue de la Motte, 85400 Lairoux, France

Maison Lairoux Holiday Homes




Tel:
00 33 (0)2 51 28 43 98
Mobile: 00 33 (0)6 43 37 87 74
WhatsApp: 00 33 (0)6 43 37 87 74
Siret: 53011496600019

This website uses “cookies” to help us provide a better user experience. Please note, if cookies are disabled, the online browsing experience may be limited.
We do not use cookies to track individuals or to store sensitive information such as your name, address or credit card details. For more details, see our Privacy Policy