Maison Lairoux Holiday Cottages: Guest Reviews pre 2016
  • 2015

    Guest Reviews 2015

    Bhudda in the garden at Maison Lairoux holiday homes
    Gail, Chelle, Janine & Luca. Bolton. January 2015
    Lovely place, brand new kitchen with all appliances. Weather cold, but the gite can be kept warm with the heaters and log fire. Very quiet - not many tourists and a lot of restaurants shut. (January!) Would certainly stay here again and will recommend to family and friends.
    Janet & Michael. Jersey February 2015
    Enjoyed a few days break at L’Ecurie. Great gite, very well appointed - we ate out so didn’t get a chance to try the new kitchen appliances. Gite is very warm with electric heaters & bonus of a log burning fire.
    Would highly recommend `Au Fils des Saisons’ restaurant in Luçon for lunch. Another good restaurant at Coulon is ‘Le Central’ (a little longer drive - about 1hour away) bt Coulon is a lovely town with boats on the river (in season).
    Would love to stay again - lovely area - would recommend to friends. Thanks for an enjoyable break.
    Amélie, Sébastien, Ninon & Jasmin. Haute-Savoie, France. April 2015.
    Venant visiter la famille, nous nous sommes retrouvés ici. C’est le paradis des enfants et ainsi des parents 😊
    De tous les gites que nous avons fais, c’est le 1er où tout a été pensé pour que les hôtes puissent manquer de rien. Vous pouvez jouer au jeu “Je pense que tel objet n’existe pas ici…” et bon, vous perdrez certainement!!!
    Un grand merci pour votre implication et votre gentillesse. Au plaisir de revenir un jour.
    The Windmill at Jard sur Vincent in the Vendee
    Capucine, Camille, Chris, Michel, Gaspard, Paul Rachel et Lucien. Lille, France. Avril/Mai 2015.
    Nous avons passé une excellente semaine dans une magnifique maison parfaitement équipée pour les petits et les grands.
    L’accueil est parfait, Annette et Jason sont extrêmement gentils et toujours prêts à répondre à nos attentes.
    Le soleil fut au Vendée pour la plupart du temps et nous partons la joie au coeur.


    Ethan (Aged 5), Sophia (Aged 8) and Zachary (Aged 2). Walton on Thames. May 2015
    The pool was great fun! I liked picking strawberries with Annette. 😊
    I enjoyed the games room and the bed was so comfy!
    Stone Castles on the beach at Les Conches
    Sarah, Geoff, Sophia, Ethan, & Zachary, Walton on Thames. May 2015
    We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay, it has been restful and peaceful - even with our 3 young children! The cottage is so well equipped, our hosts welcoming, knowledgeable and approachable - Thank you.
    The children were catered for more than 100%, the games room so well equipped, pool so lovely and gardens lots to explore. We had an amazing time, of course not to mention the beautiful sightseeing.
    We hope to visit again soon.
    Beverley, Steve and Jackson, Bristol. May 2015
    Another lovely stay at Maison Lairoux.
    The warmest, friendliest welcome from Jason and Annette. Just like our previous visit, the house has everything you need. The pool is amazing and everything/everywhere is so well kept and clean and tidy.
    We had a fab day out at the Ile de Ré and La Rochelle - well worth a day out away from the pool. Our 14 year old was well catered for with table tennis, the Xbox and of course the pool and gym. Really relaxing stay, so we’ll be back for a 3rd time!
    Thanks for all your help - you are terrific!
    Christine, Douglas, Christopher, Lesley & Pollyanna. Kent. June 2015.
    An extremely relaxing holiday in such a peaceful setting. Jason & Annette very welcoming and kind, Really enjoyed the pool, the garden, La Rochelle, The Yon Valley.
    Restaurant Au Fils des Saisons was extremely good – really fine dining and not fiercely expensive.
    We’ll be back!!
    The Jardin Dumaine in Lucon
    Dan, Kate & Elsie. Sandbach. June 2015
    A lovely week at Maison Lairoux. Thank you to Annette & Jason for making us so welcome. Also, thank you to the cats for being so patient with our little Elsie. Loved Luçon and La Tranche. Hoping to return with eldest daughter and grand parents.
    John & Sue, Don & Esther. Morpeth. June 2015
    Beautiful location, lovely pool and garden and such a friendly welcome - thank you.
    Thanks foreign such great hosts. You’ve created a great holiday experience at Maison Lairoux and there’s such nice things to do on the doorstep. The Parc Floral, the hide, the Marais - all fantastic and all within 10 minute’s drive. Annette’s liqueurs are just great - beware the peach!
    The Floral terrace at L
    Brenda & Brian, Jake & Benson (the dogs!). Oxfordshire. June 2015
    It is our 3rd visit to this lovely gite. Annette & Jason are wonderful hosts. Nothing is too much trouble. We have already booked another couple of holidays here this year and next. Weather has been wonderful.
    The Equinox restaurant is well worth a visit. The Vendee region of France is such a super place to visit - with the sandy and clean beaches, excellent restaurants, a visit to the nearby hide is well worth a visit to see the storks and other birds.
    Thank you once again Annette & Jason for making us so welcome.
    Jason, Lucy, Harley & Grace. Aldermaston. July 2015.
    Another fab time here - big house this time and my Mum stayed with us. Weird weather - warm, overcast & windy! Made to feel very welcome even when my Mum came and Jason & Annette had a BBQ to celebrate Annette’s 50th!!
    Mum & Jason talked about Jersey - so I could possibly be related to Jason 😚
    We have potentially booked for next year - hopefully to relax more!
    Gary, Eleanor, Alex & Heather. Essex. July 2015.
    We have really enjoyed our holiday. The accommodation is excellent and all the facilities kept us busy! The pool is beautiful - it was great to watch our youngest learn to swim this holiday!
    Thank you Annette & Jason for all your hospitality - we enjoyed the chats and the wine & nibbles. You made us feel very welcome and enjoyed the birthday party too. Hope to be back in the future.
    Many thanks - see you again!

    Alex - I enjoyed the table tennis and pool. Thank you.
    Heather - I liked the beaches & pool and the cats. Daddy loved the BBQ. Thank you Annette & Jason xxx.
    The Robot at La Rochelle Harbour
    Ann, James, Jo, Dan & Rachel. Redhill. July/August 2015.
    4th time here and once again a fantastic time. Managed Puy du Fou this year & it was great; definitely recommended.
    Two visits to La Rochelle - le Vieux Port is a wonderful place to wander around & people watch!
    Jason & Annette great hosts, as always - enjoyed all that the gite has to offer - pool, games room, gym etc.. Relaxation, exercise, great company - perfect holiday!
    Phil, Fiona, Eleanor, Daniel & Adam. Worcester. August 2015.
    What a wonderful way to introduce our youngest to France! The beach at Les Conches was a firm favourite - wonderful surf and not too crowded if you park off the small coastal road.
    When the weather broke we found the great soft-play centre ‘Zebra City’ in La Roche sur Yon - busy but great for 3 - 12 year olds.
    Thanks Annette & Jason for your warm hospitality - hope to see you again soon.
    Amy (Aged 13) - with family (Clare, Steve & Mark) & Griff the Dog. Buckinghamshire. August 2015.
    It’s really lovely here in the Vendée! I have really enjoyed my stay - great pool, great beach and great hosts. I also really love the cats (but sorry about Griff and the cat food!)
    The weather has been lovely except one rainy day, and I have always had something fun to do.
    🐯 Kitty, 🐱Fleur, 🐕Griff & 🐱 Buster
    Gillian, Giles, Eleanor and Christopher. Sandhurst. August 2015.
    We have had a really relaxing week helped by the great weather. All the family enjoyed the pool and Les Conches beach. First trip to La Vendée.
    Warm welcome from Annette & Jason.
    Sunset at Les Conches
    Amanda, Neil, Callum & Robbie. Sandersted. August 2015.
    What an amazing gite - such a beautiful setting and such welcoming hosts in Jason & Annette. We loved relaxing by the pool & love Les Conches for body surfing. We had a really fun day at the Indian Forest - kept the boys happy all day.
    We would love to come back soon.
    Callum: Great fun in the pool and I also enjoyed Les Conches. Weather was brill. Thanks J & A.
    Robbie: Our week here was brill thanks to all your fabulous facilities - the swimming pool was so soft and fun to play in and the games room was amazing. We loved the table tennis table and the snooker table. Thank you for letting us stay.
    Jackie, Paul, Imi & Maya. Windsor. August 2015.
    Have had a really lovely, relaxing week. Gite is gorgeous.
    Kids have loved the pool & the games room, adults loved the local wines and cheeses!! Annette & Jason are very welcoming hosts, we hope to return & will tell all of our friends about Maison Lairoux.
    Peter, Nicki, Sarah & Dorothy. Nottingham/Hull. August 2015.
    Thank you for another lovely holiday !
    Thank you again – we’ve had a fantastic time.
    It’s been a really good holiday for all of us in our own ways. For me it was the pool, so thanks again for another great holiday! Very relaxing!
    Janet & Alan, Wincham. September 2015.
    Very interesting area. Clean and well equipped gite. Annette & Jason were very welcoming and helpful.
    The harbour at Port Bourgenay
    Brenda & Brian, with Jake & Benson (2 doggies). Oxfordshire. September 2015.
    Another fantastic 2 weeks here in Lairoux. We love it here. Annette & Jason are superb hosts as nothing is too much trouble. It is our 4th visit and we will be returning next year!!.
    The gites have everything you need to make your stay comfortable.
    The beautiful beaches are not too far away and there are some excellent restaurants.
    Everything here is beautifully maintained and is a credit to Jason & Annette.
    Thank you for making our stay so brilliant. See you next year.
    Radika & Fabien, Ariege, France. October 2015
    Thanks! You’ve got a great property, everything we could possibly need!! Thanks for your lovely welcome and your willingness to have us host Fab’s 40th!! It was great.
    Janet & Michael, Jersey, Channel Islands. October 2015
    Our 2nd visit to L’Ecuire for a short stay. It is a lovely, equipped gite with very welcoming & helpful hosts. We just wanted a relaxing break enjoying some great lunches with a little shopping! Jason recommended a nearby restaurant (about 30mins away) The St Georges at St Juire Champgillon. Fabulous lunch menu 12.50 Euros – 3 courses + wine + coffee! Amazing and great food. Also would recommend the Auberge de la Court d’Aron at St Cyr en Talmondais for a great lunch. Thanks for your hospitality – we will be back!
    Stacks Image 166
  • 2014

    Guest Reviews 2014

    Storks nesting at Lairoux
    Val & Hugh, Finistère. February 2014
    We have had a very enjoyable week here with lots of sunshine as well as wind and rain! We were made very welcome by Annette & Jason and really appreciated the comforts of the gite and the books and DVDs in the games room.
    There are so many walks to do, and places of interest to visit. We particularly enjoyed walking by the coast at St Vincent and in the countryside near Mareuil. The bird watching has been excellent.
    It would be good to come again one day.
    De Saussime, Paris. May 2014
    En un mot - parfait! Confort, gentillesse, discretion et attention.
    Le jardin est très agréable, la salle de jeux si plein des trésors infinis pour les enfants et la piscines si belle! Merci beaucoup & bravo pour ce si bel accueil.
    Chateua des aventuriers, Avrille, Vendee
    Steve, Sue & Alex, Winchester. May 2014
    What can we say? A fantastic place to stay with the most equipped accommodation we have ever stayed in (and we often self cater). The easy WiFi & family room were key to this choice but still exceeded our expectations. Annette & Jason top hosts.
    Puy de Fou a spectacle but v. busy. However a real gem is the Chateau des Aventuriers - a must for adults and children - very near by at Avrillé, what a find, brilliant challenges and catering for non French visitors (unlike Puy de Fou!!) - a tragedy if you did not go! The castle ruin at Talmont St Hilaire was brilliant too, so do go there (en route to Les Sables...) La Rochelle / lie de Ré also not to be missed. Have fun! We certainly did!
    Brenda & Brian, (with Jake & Benson) Sidmouth. June 2014
    Two lovely weeks. Our 2nd stay here. Gite is very well equipped. Home from home. A very relaxing holiday. Jason & Annette superb hosts. Very sad to leave. Weather wonderful - blue skies, our 2nd week temperatures reached 30 degrees. We are returning in 2015.
    A good range of beaches only 20 minutes away. Lovely white sand. Vendee is the region to stay. Nice restaurants & bars in La Tranche sur Mer.
    Thank you Jason & Annette for making our holiday so enjoyable, can't wait for our return visit in 2015.
    Windmills at the beach
    Simon, Caroline, Nelly & William. Stroud. June 2014

    Fantastic holiday ! Pool much loved by all to cool down in late afternoon. Nelly is now a confident pool user and william loved climbing in and out.
    Lots of days out. Recommend La Rochelle & aquarium; Fontenay-le-Comte – very pretty & 2 play areas!; Chateau des Aventuriers – with pirates & dinosaurs & pretty grounds & house (food v. expensive though) Food market in Luçon v.good. So much choice.
    Play room great fun. CD/DVD’s useful. Hosts – Jason & Annette were fantastic. Babysitting really helpful and allowed us meals out – such a treat!
    This gite & setting is fabulous. Really relaxing & well located to visit the beach, towns or nature reserve.

    Nelly (3) Stroud. June 2014
    I love swimming & the pool & the beach. I love swimming in the pool.
    Beaches – La Tranche & Les Conches are fun. I made sand castles & canals & mud pies.
    Please can we come here again & go swimming again please.
    Karin, Hans, Oscar, Lennart, Linus & Hans-Ake. Stockholm, Sweden. June/July 2014
    Thanks for 2 wonderful weeks at your 'Maison'. Also thanks for the recommendations for visiting places. Hopefully we come back again.
    PS: Love the cats u got!
    Neil, Helen & Daniel. Swindon. July 2014

    Thanks to Annette & Jason for a lovely and well-equipped gite, we’ve especially enjoyed the pool and table tennis.
    Memorable day trips included La Rochelle and its towers, the beach at Les Conches and best of all the Puy du Fou – the bird show is amazing and really shouldn’t be missed. (We left here at 9am and just made the bird show – so leave a little earlier!)
    The beach at La Tranche sur Mer, Vendee
    David, Dawn & Harrison. Bucks. July 2014

    Thank you very much for such a lovely stay. Absolutely agree with all of the comments about how well equipped the gite is. Everything you require and Annette & Jason are very hospitable.
    Lovely beaches at Les Conches and do visit Chateau des Aventuriers - but take the guided tour as you see much more.
    Hope to come again!
    Aileen, George, Duncan, Malcolm & Katie. Perth. July 2014
    Another brilliant week!
    Ursula, Jon, Niamh, Connor & Abigail. Kent. July 2014
    Great time. Lovely relaxing by the pool. Fantastic hosts.
    Le Grand Defi was great for kids.
    Underwater fun in the pool
    Ann, James, Joe, Dan & Rachel. Redhill. July 2014.

    Our third holiday here once again we have had a fabulous time. Annette & Jason have been wonderful hosts and the children have had a fantastic time on the beach, in the pool, in the games room and having fun with the family next door. We will be back for the 4th year!!
    Clare, Steve, Amy & Mark. Buckinghamshire. July/August 2014
    It is possible to find a really well equipped villa, or a great pool, or a fab location, but rarely all together! What fantastic accommodation and generous hosts (birthday cakes, drinks & nibbles, underwater cameras... the list goes on!) Thanks Annette & Jason for making us all welcome - including the roving hound.
    Tips for dog walkers: path behind the church is nice, as is the Marais (but watch the grass seeds). Beach at Les Conches ok for dogs, except between the yellow & black stripe signs (supposed to be on a lead - but no one minded off). Also, La Faute good anywhere. La Tranche disaster for dogs - about 2m² available (but no loss as very busy!) Also, make sure you try the Yon Valley!
    Jeff, Emma, Linus & Tara. Surrey. August 2014
    We enjoyed our time here, thank you for being so helpful. We loved the swimming pool and games room.
    Enjoyed the Ile de Ré and La Rochelle.
    Donkeys on the Ile de Re
    Matt, Ness, Tom, Harry, Frankie & Florence. Reigate. August 2014

    Another brilliant stay & fantastic holiday. We are sad to leave!
    Frankie turned 8 & thank you for his lovely cake Annette!
    Best/Fave parts were La Terrière beach, the pool & games room, visit to ile d'Aix.
    Thanks for all your friendly hosting Annette & Jason.
    Michael, Amanda, Aerin, & Nathanael. Kent. August 2014
    Fantastic place. Beautiful village. Kids loved the pool & the games room. Jason & Annette have been terrific hosts. Thank you so much. We have had a brilliant holiday.
    Neil, Clare, Emily & Eva. Kent. August 2014
    Another wonderful holiday - thank you once again for your welcome and all the fabulous facilities - see you next year. 😊
    I really enjoyed it as always. The pool is great. The house is great. The games room is great. Thank you - Emily.
    Kayaks on the canals at Sables d
    Lucy, Jason, Grace & Harley. Aldermaston. August 2014
    We had another enjoyable week, made to feel welcome as usual by our fantastic hosts: Jason & Annette. We had more of a relaxing holiday by the pool and in the gym. I would recommend La Tranche sur Mer for evening meals and La Rochelle. Had a great last night swim!
    Hannah, Jasper, Mya, Rachel, Andy & Luca. Brighton. August 2014
    Brilliant house and setting.
    Perfect location and hosts.
    Every one of Jason & Annette's recommendations were spot on!
    Puy du Fou was exceptional!!
    View of the Ferris Wheel at La Rochelle
    Nikki, Dave, Luke & Jess. Cannock. August 2014.
    We enjoyed ourselves so much in 2012 we just had to come back! Again, our stay here has been faultless. Thank you once again to Annette & Jason for their superb hosting skills and not forgetting their assistance with our minor car trauma!
    Thank you so much - I have a sneaky feeling we'll be back again!

    Luke (14) - Our second visit to Maison Lairoux and nothing to fault the holiday once again. There were plenty of things to keep us entertained especially the table tennis, pool and snooker. We visited a few markets and various different places that we hadn't visited the first time. Even though it's our second time, I would love to come again. Thank you very much Jason and Annette for another amazing week. 😀

    Jess (12) - This was our second time visiting Maison Lairoux and yet again I had an amazing week! The facilities here kept us entertained for a long time. I particularly liked the games room and the pool. I liked the games room because I could thrash my Dad at table tennis. We finally visited La Rochelle as well, which was a really nice place! Although been here 2 times now, I'd love to come again! Thank you Jason and Annette for another great week!
    Rob, Kim & Arthur. Exeter September 2014
    Absolutely fantastic place to stay, so much to do and keep us entertained. The pool alone is great, but the games room & gym are major bonuses. We will definitely be recommending this place to friends and family. Annette & Jason have been incredibly helpful, lending us one ingredients when we forgot we need to go shopping before 12.00 on a Sunday.
    Jeff & Fiona. Jersey. October 2014
    Many thanks to Jason & Annette for making our holiday so relaxing and interesting. Weather has been fabulous so plenty of walking & cycling were enjoyed. Fantastic area with much more to explore. Thank you.
    Le Jardin Dumain in Lucon
    Philip, Sharman, Stephen & Lynda. Neath. November 2014
    We have had a relaxing weekend in your beautiful house. The location is stunning and you have been great hosts. The weather we had for the first few days was glorious - a bonus for the end of Oct/beginning of Nov! We spent a lovely day at La Rochelle and had a lovely lunch around the harbour.
    The house is well-equipped and you have thought of everything - the games room & fitness room are a bonus and our grand daughter would love the dressing up clothes!!
    Merci beaucoup et à bientôt!
  • 2013

    Guest Reviews 2013

    Vallée de l
    Sue, Stewart, Mimi & Fifi (the dog) Hagenheim, Alsace. April 2013
    Jason & Annette are excellent hosts. Can’t do enough for their guests. Gite is super & UK TV. We’ll be back next year.

    Roy, Jan & Oscar (Burmese Mountain Dog) Cambremer, Normandy - May 2013
    Had a super week despite the mixed weather! Gite is really comfy and superbly equipped and thanks so much Jason & Annette for being terrific hosts. I am sure that we will be back!
    La Vallée de l'Yon is a wonderful place for walks and picnics, especially with a large hairy dog like ours and would definitely recommend a visit to the Mervant-Vouvant forest.
    Clock Tower and Harbour at La Rochelle

    Nicky, Paul, Harrison, Annabelle & Louise, Guernsey - May 2013

    If you're wondering whether this is the place for you - debate no longer - just book! Lairoux is beautiful, relaxing and the gite fully equipped. We had a superb view from our room of a nest of storks (4? chicks) and enjoyed the facilities here - great for families - with extensive games, dressing up, ping-pong and dvdd for rainy days.

    We had an action packed stay: La Faute sur Mer; La Rochelle - a visit to the aquarium is a must; Le Parc des Aventuriers - a pirate trail set in stunning grounds; a river/valley walk in the village of Piquet (baby rucksack is needed, as not suitable for buggy). We fell in love with this place. Vouvant Medieval Fort and Mervant Forest. To top it my fellow Channel Islanders, Jason & Annette, have been brilliant hosts and we thoroughly enjoyed shared glasses/bottles of wine and chats into the evening. 😊

    John, Penny, Gracie & Mary. Battle – May 2013
    A wonderful weeks hospitality although the weather slightly unfortunate. Very attractive and interesting countryside, wonderful sandy beaches at La Tranche and Sables d’Olonne.
    A feast of a set meal at Hotel du Port in L’Aiguillon sur Mer (12 Euros). Wonderful local churches. Enjoy

    Mary, Bexhill – May 2013
    Annette & Jason, you have a lovely spot here and after years of stress – the peace and quiet is just what I needed. It’s worked wonders. Many thanks for the warm welcome and hospitality. Pity about the weather, but still enjoyed seeing the lovely countryside of the Vendee. The wine is not bad either!

    Stacks Image 249
    Cari & Kaitlyn, Jersey – May 2013
    Thank you for a fantastic week, you have more than catered for our every need. Kaitlyn loved the karaoke, though I’m sure your ears will be glad of the break!! We have had a brill time and will be back again next year.

    Paul, Kerry, girls & Logan, Jersey – May 2013
    Thank you very much for letting us stay in one of your gites. We have had a very relaxing, enjoyable week, shame about the weather but that can’t be helped. The gite is very comfortable and it felt like home from home. Sad to leave, but we will be back next year without a doubt.

    Ann, Scott, Euan & Eilidh. Yvelines, France - June 2013

    A beautiful and comfortable house with everything we could possibly have needed. The situateion is wonderful, very peaceful, a great place for a relaxing week or two with active youngsters. The nearby beaches are fantastic, Les Conches being a favourite of ours, and La Rochelle was an interesting day trip for all the family.
    We will recommend this gite to friends and family.

    Shelley & Rose, with Tarka the labrador. Haute-Savoie & Brittany - June 2013

    A delightful residence - spacious, very well equipped and comfortable. Thank you Jason & Annette for your generous hospitality - we had a very peaceful & relaxing holiday. I hope to see you both 'chez moi' in the Alps this autumn. - Shelley
    I enjoyed the peace and tranquilty of your beautiful and well maintained garden. Also slept so well in your very comfortable beds. Thank you for letting us share your little heaven. - Rose

    Tracey, Caroline, Natasha, Jamie & Emily. Bath – June 2013
    The gites and amenities are superb. The games room has been a big hit as the weather has not been kind to us. Tracey really enjoyed looking at your collection. Thank you and good luck for the future.
    St Gilles Croix de Vie

    PJ, Claire, Norabrid & Mark. Dublin - June/July 2013

    Beautiful place and people with more than enough to occupy 2 teenagers & 2 adults! will be back and will recommend to family & friends. The Wed & Sat market in Luçon is only for food. On Sunday night there was only 1 restaurant open in Luçon - Eldorado, which was just ok, but when you had no other choice (and few provisions bought in) we were grateful for it!
    Steve, Julie, Cléa, Théo, Matthis & Lily. Cardiff - June/July 2013
    We've thoroughly enjoyed our stay here! The four children have loved playing in the play-room & using the swimming pool as well as all this gîte has to offer. The weather has been great, meaning we've spent the majority of our time here using the facilities, eating outdoors and a few trips to the beach and walks in the Marais. We'll hopefully be back again in future years! Thank you both Jason & Annette, you've been very welcoming and couldn't do enough for us during our stay.

    Cléa (5 years old) - Thank you for letting us in this house and use the swimming pool. I love it.
    Aileen, George, Duncan & Malcolm. Perth - July 2013
    Our third stay at this wonderful house. Weather was excellent and the boys, as usual, loved the pool and games room. Had a great week, wish we could stay longer. Thanks to Jason & Annette for looking after us so well and for sharing some wine with us!! Aurevoir.
    Underwater Swimming at Maison Lairoux
    Clare, Colin, Oliver & Sam – Abingdon. July 2013
    A wonderfully relaxing and enjoyable stay. Everything we needed was here. Jason & Annette were perfect hosts – tourist info, BBQ, and IT support!! We would recommend Les Conches beach and Le Grand Defi high ropes. The Velo Rail is also a fun day out.
    Oliver (9) – I really liked the games room and pool. Thanks for letting me swim at night.
    Sam (4) – enjoyed playing with all the cats and chatting to Annette in her kitchen!
    We will be back!!
    Carolyn, Peter & Finn. London - August 2013
    We all had a great time. Annette & Jason were very good hosts, with lots of excellent advice. A very lovely place to stay.
    Ann, James, Joe, Dan & Rachel. Redhill - August 2013
    Our second stay here; this time for two weeks, and once again, we have had a wonderful time. The house and on-site facilities are fabulous and as we have been fortunate with the weather, we have spent a lot of time enjoying the pool, the games room, the garden and the gym.
    The beach at Les Conches was excellent again; we all loved body boarding there. Great local markets. Had a lovely meal at L'Atelier in Luçon and enjoyed the high ropes at Le Grand Defi. Jason & Annette are wonderful hosts and we greatly enjoyed their hospitality and company.
    Lotus lake at the Tropical Gardens
    Audrey, Gary & Isobel. Ely - August 2013
    We had a really lovely time - thank you Annette & Jason! La Terrière was our favourite beach - it has good waves for bodyboard! Fleurs du Thym restaurant in Les Sables d'Olonne is a very good restaurant. The weather has been fantastic for most of the time here. We also liked the Equinox restaurant at La Tranche.

    Steve, Sharon, Alexandra, Paul, Ryan & Emma. West Midlands - August 2013
    Our first time in the west of France. Fantastic holiday, wonderful hosts and the cats went down a treat!
    Christine & Ian. Devon - September 2013
    What a beautiful, peaceful setting! Extremely well equipped and the pool has been well used. Thanks for a great venue.

    Eloise (aged 11) Devon - September 2013
    This holiday was really amazing. The pool was brilliant and I really liked watching films at night with my sister Jessica (15) as well! Today was the best day though. We went to a really good climbing place called Indian Forest! Great for any age of kids; bouncy castles for kids aged around 3/4ish. Treetop climbing for age 5 and over and lots of other fun stuff! Check it out for kids if you have any…..really cool!!
    Heather & Edward. Fareham - September 2013
    Thank you Annette and Jason for another completely relaxing holiday. It's no surprise people come back time and again. Everything provided, nothing too much trouble. We very much enjoyed your hospitality.

    Il de Re St Martins Harbour
    Brenda & Brian, and Jake the Labrador. Sidmouth - September 2013
    We have had a brilliant stay in the very comfortable gite. Pool and gym excellent - in fact we have had such a good time we are coming back next year for 2 weeks. We had a very warm welcome from our hosts Annette & Jason. The gite is very well situated and the coast is not too far at all. We had an excellent meal at Hotel de Port in L'Aiguillon sur Mer on the recommendation of Annette & Jason. Very reasonably priced and the quality of the food was really good. It gets very busy - even when the tourists have gone. It is best to get there at 12 noon! Thank you for making us so welcome and see you next year.
  • 2012

    Guest Reviews 2012



    Lucy, Jason, Grace & Harley, Aldermaston June 2012
    Maillezais

    We have had a fab 2nd time here at mason Lairoux. We even brought our friends from home. We have had fun despite the odd weather. Some windy days - just like home. Took the kids Go-Karting at La Jonchère - they had fun and so did Jason P. Had a lovely meal at L'Ardoise Gourmande in Luçon. Next time we won't take the kids! Worth a visit. The boating at L'Abbeye Maillezais only 45 minutes away is worth a visit too. Thanks go to Jason & Annette for their help and chats every day and the vin…..

    Jason, Jane, Harry & Ella, Reading June 2012
    2nd visit here - wish we could have stayed longer! Great hosts - hope you'll have us back. Very, very good! Thank you - Harry!



    James, Sarah, Isaac (aged 2), Brian & Hazel, West Yorkshire June 2012
    Lucon Park

    Thanks to Annette & Jason for their wonderful house and hospitality - any possible need was extremely well catered for! We've been to so many wonderful places (most of which have been mentioned by previous guests!) but we've particularly enjoyed Coulon where we hired a boat to row along the canals. For those with kids, Luçon and Talmont Saint Hilaire both have good playgrounds. We adults enjoyed a boat trip at Port Bourgenay too! And for a day out for the whole family, Le Château des Aventuriers at Avrillé is worth a visit (but better take a picnic as food choice is limited!) We've had a brilliant time here, thanks again and see you again in years to come!

    George, Aileen, Duncan,& Malcolm, with William, Mhairi, Carolyn, Katie & Robbie, Scotland July 2012
    The McFadzean's second visit and brought along the Bairds this time. Great hospitality once again from Annette & Jason who came to our rescue with toilet rolls (9 bodies in one house!) Lovely beaches at La Tranche sur Mer & Les Sables d'Olonne. Plenty things to do, but when the weather is good - the pool is all you need for amusement. Will be recommending house to all our friends.

    Lucy, Julian, Ben, Oscar & Rudi, Oxfordshire July 2012
    A wonderful week, wish we could have stayed longer. We love the house, gardens, the pool & also the games room. Excellent meal at L'Equinoxe in La Tranche sur Mer. Ile de Re worth a visit (the cycle paths are great), plus the beach at Les Conches. Small, but good wine cave at Angles. Jason & Annette's hospitality (plus making new friends with the cats!) made us very relaxed. See you again!!

    Georgina, aged 9, Teddington July 2012
    Thank you Jason & Annette for your lovely house and swimming pool. There was lots of nice cutlery & equipment. Jason & Annette were very kind & helpful. There are lots of things for the beach and inflatables for the swimming pool. I love the cats, especially Fleur!

    Lydia, aged 12, Teddington, July 2012
    Underwater-at-Maison-Lairoux

    Only 1 week! Thank you very much Jason and Annette for this AMAZING gite and pool. Numerous displays have been performed in that pool with the other family and special thanks to Jason who allowed us to borrow his underwater camera. The gite is excellently equipped but if we ever did need anything, all you had to do was knock on Jason & Annette's door. I have especially enjoyed playing with your cats, although Fleur spent most of her time in our cupboard!!!

    James, Ann, Joseph, Daniel & Rachel, Redhill, July 2012
    We've had a really fabulous week here in this wonderful house. Idyllic location - beautiful views, lovely garden and great, much-used pool. The weather has been glorious, so we have enjoyed the beach at Les Conches - fantastic waves for bodyboarding! Spent most of our time here - why go elsewhere when all you need is on site? Children loved the pool and the well-equipped games room. And Joe enjoyed talking I.T. with Jason.
    Overall, a really relaxing week; Jason & Annette have been such marvellous hosts - we have already booked for 2 weeks next summer! Many thanks - we will certainly recommend this place to family and friends.

    Nicki, Peter, Sarah & Rosie, Nottingham, August 2012
    Third year in a row for the Baguleys - thanks again for all your help, advice and friendship. Highlights included the Aquarium at Talmont, Puy du Fou and La Rochelle.
    Sarah - Thank you for another great holiday. I really enjoyed it.
    Rosie - Thank you very much for my wonderful holiday, I have never been abroad in Europe, so staying at Maison Lairoux has given me high expectations for future holidays in Europe!
    Nicki - Thank you for my lovely birthday cake.

    Mark, Lou, Jess, Sophie, & Josh, Maidenhead, August 2012
    Surfer on Beach

    Had a wonderful 2 weeks here - we are going home completely relaxed. Nothing has been too much trouble - (even relatives who were let down by their holiday accommodation were made to feel welcome - 5 extras for dinner and a sleepover too!) Games room and badminton much appreciated as was the chance to go late night swimming.

    Paul, Jane, Matthew & Thomas. Salisbury August 2012
    Our first stay at Maison Lairoux and we thoroughly enjoyed it….the pool and table tennis kept the boys happy!! Accommodation very good & facilities (internet & UK TV) very useful. Thanks and looking forward to visiting next year.

    Thomas (13) - Thank you for a wonderful holiday. The pool and house were amazing. We have been to France on holiday two times before and this was the best. Jason and Annette were very kind and helpful. The table tennis kept me and Matthew entertained for ages. Thank you and hope we can come again next year. (The cats were lovely too)

    The Frooms, Cardiff & South Africa August 2012
    It was amazing that this house has had everything we thought of - including bicycles, picnic gear and beach equipment.
    Josh (7) - It was very, very hot. I am definitely coming back. Thank you.

    Nikki, Dave, Luke & Jessica. Cannock August 2012
    Fun-in-the-Pool

    A fantastic week had by all. Fabulous house, excellent facilities, great location and fantastic hosts! We would highly recommend a stay at Maison Lairoux to all our friends. Thank you - we've had fun and made great memories.

    Luke (11) & Jess (9) - Our first and hopefully not only visit to Maison Lairoux. The facilities kept us entertained for hours, especially the pool and the games room. In the pool there were loads of inflatables to keep us entertained and have fun with Victoria and Nathaniel in the other house. Near by there were loads of markets and beaches about 15-20 minutes away. We also love the cats.

    Linda, Mark, Christian, Sam, Alex, Victoria & Nathaniel. Croydon August 2012
    What a really wonderful and relaxing holiday we have enjoyed here - with everything included, especially the cats for the little ones. Thanks for being such welcoming and caring hosts Jason & Annette - especially in our in our time of need with broken car windows. The facilities were wonderful and the freedom for the children idyllic. All the information was available with enthusiasm and most of all the level of hospitality was unheard of - thank you so much.

    Clare, Neil, Emily & Eva. Ashford August 2012
    Ile de Re 2012 Harbour

    We don't want to leave! This is an amazing place! - beautiful gites, so well equipped that as a mum, I didn't have to worry about anything. Jason & Annette are such great hosts, nothing is too much trouble and we felt completely at home. 😊 We didn't venture out much as there is everything you need here - pool and games room were a big hit with Emily (7) which meant we could relax. We did enjoy a lovely day on Il de Re and a fantastic meal in Avrillé - Le Menhir - steak cooked over a woodsmoke - delicious! This place is a must for families - we will recommend it to everyone. Have already booked for next year! Thank you for all your hard work. 😃

    Heather & Edward. Hampshire September 2012
    Great gite with everything we needed, and more. Brilliant weather virtually the whole time. We enjoyed surfing at Les Conches and our visit to La Rochelle. Jason and Annette - thank you for being wonderful hosts and for the fizz on my birthday. We couldn't have been better looked after and can understand why so many people come back again and again.

    Stephan, Mary, Clare, Sam, Charlotte & Elspeth. Manchester & Rugby September 2012.
    Lovely gite with all needs catered for. We had lovely weather and the pool was a great hit with everyone. The play room was excellent, Charlotte passed many 'quiet' yours in there. House very well equipped for catering for ourselves, but many good places to eat. Marais boat trip at Maillezais v. good. La Rochelle really worth a visit, as is Sables d'Olonne - our favourite beach. Cycling in the area is brilliant, with lots of easy to follow routes. Thanks for all your help and advice about the area.

    Catherine et Christian. Paris October 2012
    Très joli séjour, bel appartement et une très grande gentillesse de nos hôtes.

    Famille Guignan, Fontainebleau November 2012
    Nous vous remercions pour votre accueil, fort sympathique. Votre gite est très agréable et nous avons permis ainsi de passer de bons moments en compagnie de nos enfants et de notre petit-fils.


  • 2011

    Guest Reviews 2011



    Andy, Becky, Finley & Morgan, Brighton
    Our Youngest Cat, Fleur

    Beautiful surroundings and a lovely gite. We have had the best Easter break & the weather has been fabulous – thank you Jason & Annette for laying that on!! Your hospitality has been amazing & we have really appreciated all the time you have put into our stay. Its been very much appreciated too, all this and a brilliant games room & surrogate pets! Perfect.

    Geoff, Susan & Robert, Northampton
    Lovely gite, great hosts and beautiful area. Wish we had more time to explore. First visit to Vendée, so much to see. Fantastic weather for April; sunny and warm every day we were here. Lovely beaches within easy reach and La Rochelle a great day out.
    Thanks Jason & Annette for being such lovely hosts and a real detailed source of local info and knowledge.

    Karen, Charles & Oliver, Sevenoaks
    We have had a great time. Stunning weather (April) as hot as July, lovely gite and brilliant food! Jason & Annette have given us advice on places to visit. Coulon was lovely - we hired a boat for an hour and cycled along the tow paths. Huge sandy beaches near here too. The swimming pool was well used by Oliver and he loved the games room too. Jason & Annette work hard to make this a welcoming, relaxing place. Nothing was too much trouble. A gite to remember and we intend to come back as soon as we can!

    Alex & Dave, London
    Chateau des Aventuriers, Avrille

    Second time here (first in June '09) but in the smaller gite this time. Can't believe how lucky we've been with the weather - 22-25℃ most days. (April) Clearly we like it here as we came back!! The pool's fantastic, J & A are brilliant hosts - lovely Welcome Meal & great advice & chat the whole week. Thank you.

    Sylvia & Doug, Northampton
    Thank you Annette & Jason for a much needed holiday. Its a wonderful location and Doug and I enjoyed meeting with the locals and visiting the lovely area all around. We've had a great time, with wonderful food & hospitality - who could ask for more. We're looking forward to a return trip someday soon.

    Mike, Sarah, Georgia & Alexandra, Abergavenny
    Moricq Tower

    We’ve had a super time! Lovely location, lovely gite and we had some great days out too. The swimming pool was a big hit with the girls, especially the inflatables. Excellent welcome and hospitality and advice about where to go. Many thanks – we’re off to Euro Disney now – something tells me it won’t be quite so peaceful!!

    Jason, Lucy, Grace & Harley, Aldermaston
    A fabulous time had by all the Paxford family. Certainly the best we have stayed in France. The hosts, Jason & Annette, were superb & their assistance second to none. The Indian Forest is a must once you get past all the queuing! (Bank Holiday). We will certainly be coming back. Jason & Harley were always in the games room playing ping pong. We all definitely loved the pool.

    James Vicki, Lachlan & Isla, Jersey
    Port Bourgenay, Boats in the Harbour

    Another great week at Maison Lairoux. As ever, Annette & Jason were great hosts and very helpful. The kids loved the pool and it was always a fight to get them out at the end of the day. This was our 3rd visit to Lairoux and it never disappoints, nothing beats sitting outside in the evening taking in the peaceful scenery when the children have gone to bed!! We’ll be back!

    Steve, Julia, Georgie & Katie, Henley-on-Thames
    Our second lovely stay at Maison Lairoux was as good as the first. It's wonderful for children and Annette & Jason are exceptional hosts. Thank you, see you again.

    Christine & Douglas, Kent
    We've had just the break we needed! Pure relaxation and many thanks to Jason & Annette for their friendliness and help re: surrounding areas. Will recommend to our friends.

    Denis, Serena, Daniel, Matthew & Orla, Co. Donegal, Ireland
    A very enjoyable & relaxing week in Maison Lairoux. This is our first holiday in the Vendee and we loved it. The gite itself is excellent, very comfortable and well equipped, probably the best we have experienced during many holidays in France. A big thank you to Jason & Annette for their hospitality. We really enjoyed the games room and the pool. Thank you!!

    Mackenzie Family, Connecticut, USA
    The Tour de France 2011 in the Vendee

    Our 5th year return to the best Atlantic beaches and countryside living ever! Many fun adventures: watching the Tour de France (in person - live!), riding horses in ancient dune forests, exploring tidal pools and flying kites at Port Bourgenay, swimming in surf at La Terriere Plage, seeing wheat and sunflower fields all around, being caressed by lavender scented breezes, riding bicycle to Curzon and back, daily jogging on the communal, enjoying fresh food, produce and best baguettes ever! Thank you Jason & Annette for so many fun times, guidance and the chance to savour the best of the Vendee - many happy memories.

    Sheila, Somerset
    Superb time again! Hospitality second to none and can't wait for next visit.

    Conn, Paula, Calum, Sophie & Domino, Co. Tyrone, Northern Ireland
    Our second visit, this time we brought our dog. Once again, Annette & Jason managed to make our stay as comfortable & enjoyable as possible. The pool, games room, WiFi and all the little extras are what sets Maison Lairoux apart from other gites. I am sure this will not be the last visit and look forward to returning in the future. Thanks for everything.

    Tony, Auveen, Aisling, Rory & Niamh, Dublin Ireland
    A very relaxing & chilled out holiday. The kids had a ball in the pool, playroom and garden. Wish we could stay longer!


    Richard, Amelia, Tilly & Martha, Herts
    Mermaid on the beach

    We've had a lovely 2 weeks staying in L'Ecurie. The weather has mostly been great so we have moved between the beach (We love Les Conches - great waves and ice cream) and the fabulous pool. La Rochelle and Les Sables d'Olonne are nice to visit. Port Borgenay as well a for a stroll and ice cream). Special thank you to Louis, Heidi & Sarah for the laughs.

    Tilly, Herts
    I really liked staying here for my holiday. I loved playing with Louis & Heidi. Every day the whole family played in the swimming pool. It was really fun. PS: I love your cats!

    Matt, Ness, Tom, Harry, Frankie & Florence, Surrey
    We have had a wonderful holiday! Les Conches for the beach, wonderful pool & La Tranche for the evening are our firm favourites. Huge thanks to Heidi and Louis for being great playmakers for the kids, and Jason & Annette for wonderful welcome meal and hospitality. Thanks to Annette from Frankie for all the little chats and his chocolate birthday cake. Thank you, lovely gite.

    Beverley, Steve & Jackson, Bristol
    Cavaliers at the Puy du Fou

    Thank you Annette & Jason for such a friendly welcome, great hospitality and advice which has made our stay at L'Ecurie a very memorable one. Perfect family holiday for us and our very active (and clumsy) 10 year old boy - everything we could have wished for and more!! The gite is so well equipped, with every detail catered for; not to mention the magnificent pool - wow! Nothing was ever too much trouble, and this holiday has been truly amazing and I'm sure we'll be back. Thanks also for being the taxi to the hospital - which didn't spoil the holiday. Thanks again also to Louis & Heidi - Jackson's playmates.

    Lesley, Jonathan, Rose, Niamh & Polly, Jersey
    We had a lovely stay in the gite, all very relaxing with a lot of time by the pool. The girls loved their daily swimming and playing with the other children staying in the other gite. Many thanks to Jason & Annette for your advice and help with the doctor’s appointment!

    Peter, Nicki & Sarah, Nottingham
    Thank you for another wonderful stay, with good weather and great company. We enjoyed visiting La Rochelle again, especially Ernest Le Glacier! We can also recommend the castle at Talmont and the abbey at Maillezais. As Sarah succinctly put it - 'The best holiday ever! I really enjoyed playing in the pool.'

    Sean, Elaine, James, Jade & Cameron - plus Theo & Poppy, Cornwall
    Another great week - plenty of rest & relaxation for us and lots of time in the pool and games room for the kids. Thanks again to Jason & Annette for being so patient with the kids - especially the stream of requests to play table tennis.

  • 2010

    Guest Reviews 2010


    Kate & Arabella – London
    Winter Seed heads on The Marais Communale

    Wonderfully warm and helpful hosts. Time after time surpassing our expectations and coming to the rescue on numerous occasions. A huge thank you.
    Looking forward to returning

    Mark & Susan – Courgains
    We had a lovely weekend. The gite is very comfortable and very well equipped. Good luck for the future.

    Emilie & Sebastien – Gironde
    Night time at Maison Lairoux

    Merci pour se petit coin de paradis. Nous avons passés une douce et merveilleuse nuit. Merci à vous deux pour votre acceuil et votre sourire, nous sommes très content. Bonne continuation et bravo pour la c'est renovation c'est magnifique!

    Ken & Elaine – Newport S.Wales
    We have had a most enjoyable and relaxing times at Maison Lairoux. An ideal location for exploring the Southern Vendée. Annette and Jason have a winning combination with the wide range of facilities on offer. Over many years, we have travelled extensively in Western France, and this is one of the best accommodations that we have found.

    Fiona, Tom & Harry – Yateley Hampshire
    We have had a fantastic holiday, the welcome meal was a superb start to our stay. The gite has everything that we could possible need and Harry thoroughly enjoyed the pool, and the gym is brilliant - especially taking into account the food that we have consumed during our stay, having endulged in numerous patisserie visits! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

    Meg, Gary, Beth & Dan - Ealing London
    Our Curious Cat, Buster

    Thank you Jason & Annette for a lovely holiday. You're very welcoming hosts, for whom nothing seems like too much trouble. The gite was very well equipped, and the pool and excellent playroom were huge hits with the kids. Thank you also for the babysitting, taxi service, restaurant recommendations and lovely barbecue on our first day.
    We enjoyed visiting the beach at Bourgenay, the beautiful Green Venice waterway at Maillezais and the excellent Chateau des Adventuriers. A wonderfully relaxing time and we hope to return.

    Julian, Nancy, Sam, Sophie & Alice - Leicestershire UK
    We have stayed in many Gites & cottages & never has one been so fantastically equipped & welcoming as yours. The pool is fabulous & the games room has entertained the children brilliantly - for the first time, post-kids, we have had the chance to sit & relax. Thank you for all your recommendations on places to visit & eat. We have been truly spoilt & sincerely hope to be back next year.

    Karen, Tobin, Sam, Connor & Aidan - Kent
    Nigella Flower in the Garden

    Have had a lovely holiday, the pool and games room have been great and Annette and Jason are very thoughtful and helpful hosts. England games on the big screen were much appreciated by a football starved husband! A great area of France for our fortnight, especially enjoyed the Parc Floral a la Court D'Aron(very tranquil even with the kids) and La Rochelle.Have run out of time to fully explore the beaches, We'll save that for another time when Aidan is not scared of the sand! Au Revoir, K,T,C & A xxxx Oh and don't forget the bread van - Beep Beep!!

    James, Vicky, Lachlan, & Isla - Jersey Channel Islands
    This is our second year at Lairoux. Having had a great holiday the first time we decided to come back and stay for two weeks this time. Yet again another excellent holiday - Jason and Annette are so friendly and helpful. The Gite is great and the pool and games room are excellent - There are so many toys to keep the kids entertained. Didn't make it to the surrounding beaches as we couldn't drag ourselves away from the pool. We are all sad to leave but hopefully we will be back again soon!

    The MacKenzie Family, Connecticut - USA
    Sunset on the Beach

    We continue to grow and explore this area of France, from this 'gem' of a gite. Plenty to keep all ages occupied - from finding the best boulangerie for croissants and baguettes, to learning to boogie board/ surf at the local beaches. Many sites to visit: beach at Bourgenay at low tide, St Martin on the Ile de Re, and chateau de Terre Neuve are 3 noteworthy excursions. Long walks on the Marais Communal are great to head up and get in shape. Our hosts, Annette & Jason continue to ensure we are all happy and relaxed each day. Pool, games room, WiFi access, TV, BBQ dinner are all first rate. Beach at La Terriere is hard to beat anywhere, and ice cream at La Tranche is great too. We cherish our two weeks each year in this paradise place in the French countryside, so close to the beach and great adventurous places, but quiet and private as well. A la prochaine 2011!!!

    George, Aileen, Duncan & Malcolm - Perth
    A Busy Day at Les Conches Beach

    Late flights, rain and wind, a broken down vehicle, but we still had a great time and a trip to hospital thrown in too! Everything that Jason & Annette could control was ideal and we certainly would come back.

    Sheila - Somerset 
    Piggybacked on sister’s 2 week stay (Conn & Paula) and despite the weather had a very much needed relaxing few days. Accommodation is very well equipped and location is perfect for the area as easy to visit surrounding areas.
     
    Conn, Paula, Callum (15) & Sophie (12) - Northern Ireland
    We have been holidaying in the Vendée since Aug 97 so we know the area quite well. This is the best holiday we have had to date. Perfect location, close to all the attractions we like to visit and we made our first foray into Bordeaux to acquire my favourite ‘Cru Bourgeois’  red at less than half price! Our kids enjoyed the company of our Scottish neighbour’s children. Callum delighted in telling us that wee Malcolm (4) had fallen asleep in his lap in the games room. Facilities and gite are excellent. The hosts service is ‘par excellence’. We have booked the same 2 weeks for next summer. I understand we are the first family to re-book on arrival day! We hope to spread the word and encourage our friends to visit with us next year and as our holiday draws to a close we will cherish the memories until next time. A Bientôt!!
     
    The Van den Driest Family - Holland
    We had a nice week. Enjoyed the beaches, waves and oysters. The owl in the garden is magic. The beds for tall Dutchmen are a bit small. The passion for watches of Jason enthusing! We wish Jason & Annette all the best for their future in France.

    Paul, Cathy, Bethany & Robbie - Cardiff
    Once again we have had a wonderful holiday at Maison Lairoux. We have spent our time alternating between our favourite beaches (La Faute and Les Conches) and the lovely warm pool, and we have had great days out at La Rochelle and Les Sables D'Olonne. The presentation and aspect of the gite is as superb as we remember it from last year and, as always, Annette and Jason have been fantastic hosts.

    Jane, Dan, George, Joseph, Rosa, Alf & Ruby - London
    The Bal des Oiseaux Phantoms at the Puy du Fou

    Had a fab week! Would love to come back and will certainly recommend to friends. Jason and Annette are great particularly with the children. All enjoyed trips to Puy du Fou and Indian Forest, swimming in the pool and using the games room. Little touches made it special like homegrown Figs and Tomatoes. Jason resourcefulness + Annette's kindness - Rosa says thanks for the earrings.

    Peter, Nicki & Sarah - Nottingham
    We have had a wonderful stay, thank you. We particularly enjoyed the cats, the garden, the pool, the games room and the night swim - in fact everything! Thank you for your generous hospitality and for always being there with useful recommendations. Very grateful for the advice about the Sunday market at La Faute, the beach at Les Conches and what to see in La Rochelle.

    Karen, Peter, Miles, Amelia, Anne, Alison & David & Joe the Greyhound! - Harrogate & Chesterfield
    Fantastic facilities and Jason & Annette were incredibly helpful and patient. Their local knowledge helped to make a good holiday great. We can recommend the hospitality at the local pub and the moules at Le Canot. The beach at Les Conches is a hidden gem - take the path to the right for the bit dogs are allowed on. We will recommend Maison Lairoux as a great holiday location.

    Ann & Tony - Essex UK
    What a comfortable & welcoming gite. We shared 2 with the rest of our family for Tony's (Jnr) 40th birthday. Thank you Annette & Jason for the help & advice etc.. Can we come again without he children??

    Tony, Fiona, Henry, Abby & Hugo - Windsor UK

    Another superb holiday - Gites had everything for the kids and games room came into its own when we had occasional rain the first week. The Parc Floral is a hidden gem - undersold yet kept 3 youngsters happy for hours. Just buy enough popcorn for the animals! Chateau des Adventures is also worth an afternoon out to wear out the little ones and stretch the brain cells with the treasure hunt. Birthday BBQ was excellent (thanks Annette and Jason) Just ask for the veggie offerings! Thanks again a bientot.

    Rupert, Tory, Jonty & Hattie - Yorkshire UK
    A Starfish on the Beach

    Yet again a lovely holiday! This year visited Ile de Re and cycled 40KM (even Hattie @ 8 years old). Fantastic cycle routes only ever crossing the road very occasionally. Visited Marans and had a wonderful boat trip down the river and saw Kingfishers and other wonderful birdlife. As always Gite was fantastic, Jason and Annette very welcoming. Just Brilliant!!

    Steve, Julia, Georgie & Katie - East Sussex UK
    A truly wonderful place to have a holiday. Jason and Annette have the perfect host, far exceeding the norm. To celebrate Jason's birthday with their friends was amazing and a very memorable day. The Gite has been perfect for family with young children, particularly the games room and the excellent pool. Whilst we haven't been exploring much (because it was so nice here!), we loved the beach at La Tranche sur Mer and had a great day out at La Rochelle. Ant to top it all of the weather has been amazing. Thank you very much for a lovely time.

    Trevor & Maureen - Kent UK
    We were invited by Steve and Julia to join them on their holiday, so that we could spend some time with Georgie and Katie our granddaughters, so we had no say in where we stayed, but what a wonderful place they picked. Our hosts Jason and Annette are top rate. Thank you for inviting us to your birthday BBQ it was great "You do have to understand Jason that the BIG 40 comes right after 39." Thank you for the loan of the screwdriver to repair my stop light, and Annette thank you for the baking powder, your attention to detail is excellent. Best Wishes for the future. PS Say hello to Malcolm for us.

    Roz, Andy, Fabian & Lois - Sheffield UK
    Fontenay le Comte

    We have had a magical time in our home from home in the last 3 weeks. The facilities, the location and most of all the company have been fantastic. As all previous guests have said. Annette and Jason are wonderful and welcoming hosts. We were honoured to be invited to your birthday party celebrations Jason. It was a pleasure to meet Annette's charismatic father Malc when has wasn't in the pub! Our boys loved the cats especially the friendly Fleur. We are going to miss you and we will toast you when we're drinking our Chateauneuf du Pape. A Bientot!

    Sonya & Stephen - Hong Kong
    Dear Annette and Jason. Thank you for all your "Jersey hospitality" in France. L'Ecurie is a wonderful gite, and amazingly well organised. This region of France is new to us, and we will definitely be back!
    We can think of no other place to come and relax afer the hustle and bustle of Hong Kong.

    Andy & Alan - Surrey UK
    Very comfortable Gite, very friendly hosts. October is late in the season, but after two wet days we spent yesterday on the beach in shorts and dined alfresco in La Rochelle. Le Canot was very welcoming to us (including the dog) on a wet Monday evening. Next time we will come in the summer and enjoy the pool!

    Sean, Elaine, James, Jade & Isere - Cornwall UK
    The Old Towers at La Rochelle

    Our first visit to the Vendee and the children's first visit to France. And what a fine welcome it has been. Jason and Annette could not have been better hosts and their local knowledge is fantastic! Ile de Re is definitely worth a visit - La Nautique bistro/restaurant in La Flotte is a hidden gem! Maison Lairoux is most definitely the only place to stay when staying in the Vendee - We can't wait to come back!

    PS: So long and thanks for all the fish

  • 2009

    Guest Reviews 2009

    Christine, Alex, Stephanie, Chris, Gregory & Mitch – Ascot
    The Canals of the Marais Poitevin

    We had a fab break away, thank you both! Even though the weather was not great all the time there was the fantastic games room to keep us all busy. We would like to come back in the summer so we can all enjoy the beautiful pool! Thank you again xxx

    Richard, Jackie, Kieran & Liam – Guernsey
    Brilliant holiday had by all. Jason and Annette have made a brilliant job of making sure everybody enjoys their time here. Indian forest is a must to go to. Puy du Fou. Fantastic day out but take your own picnic with you!! The pool and Xbox were a great hit with the boys. Everything has been thought out very good. All the best Jackie, Richard, Kieran and Liam

    Luc, Odile, Julian, Camille & Adryen – St Brieuc, France
    Super séjour, accueil merveilleux. Beaucoup de bons souvenirs. Bonne continuation et à bientôt.

    Natalie, Matthew, Isabelle & Libby – Epsom, Surrey
    Surfing at Les Conches

    We have had a fantastic week here! Thank you both for making our stay so relaxing and enjoyable and we all appreciate the efforts you went to in making us feel so comfortable and at home. The pool and gardens are lovely and the playroom is a great bonus. We had great fun on the deserted beach at La Faute sur Mer, and La Tranche was good on a rainy day for collecting shells and crabs! We enjoyed our trip to Sables D’Olonne and hope to return next year as there is a lot more exploring to be done! Thanks too for the good restaurant recommendation & babysitting. Wish we were staying for 2 weeks!

    Vicki, James, Lachlan & Isla – Jersey
    Annette and Jason really looked after us and were great with the children. The food cooked by Annette and Jason was great and took the pressure off on the first couple of nights. Gite is very well equipped. The swimming pool was a real favourite with the kids. The restaurant recommendation and babysitting were just the job to let mum and dad get a night out! The aquarium at La Rochelle was great fun for both the young ones and older ones. A fun holiday-Definitely would like to come back!

    Alex & Dave – Battersea, London
    Arrived and the gite really exceeded our expectations. Straight into the gorgeous pool.... Were fed fantastic home cooked pickles and chutneys on the first night as we'd planned so badly and arrived on a Sunday when everything was closed! Thanks so much to J&A for that-we were really grateful. Just had a lovely,relaxing week-Alex xxx
    Well equipped, comfortable and quiet house, great pool and games room. Very friendly and helpful hosts-w'ell definitely be back! Would recommend île de Ré (especially St Martin), Indian Village (especially the Maxi-Tyrolliere, tiring but fun) and any of the local beaches. Dave xx

    Clark, Innes & Finlay – Connecticut, USA
    The Medieval Knights at the Puy du Fou

    3rd Visit in a row to ML!
    We continue to be impressed with the little improvements to this awesome gite - a true "home base" from which a family with young children can explore the fabulous beaches and unique sites around the countryside. We love the pool, the Xbox, fresh croissants with bowls of hot chocolate,awesome BBQ dinners,fresh country air and solitude. Me and the children now think of our hosts Annette and Jason as family in this part of France, and our return here to familiar faces and places feels like coming home. True luxury at the gites, so bring a sense of adventure to explore this beautiful part of France - you will have memories to treasure for a lifetime! Perhaps that is why we have returned for this our 3rd visit, and we all shed a tear when leaving, such an incredible place, and count the weeks 'til our return

    Will, Helen, Oliver, Max & Emily – Oxford
    We have had yet another amazing trip to France this year. Emily had very good time making raspberry jam with Annette and, Emily did the swimming pool with Jason. Max had an awesome time at the Indian Forest AGAIN and also had fun with the swimming pool and games room. Oliver loves it here and thinks Jason is the best host ever. We love it, we had a great time thank you. (As written by the children) – They as usual have the last word! Thank you Jason and Annette for a wonderful holiday. I think the children want to adopt you!

    Lucie, Marie-Christine, Joerg, Claudia, Dusseldörf
    Ich fand es hier toll weil der pool direkt vor unserer nase war. Im spielzimmer haben wir mit ganz verschiedenen sachen gespielt – von Lucie.
    Ich fand es schön hier vor allen dingen, - das boulespiel mit Jason. Im pool haben wir uns auch gern aufgehalten. Ich hoffe wir fahren bald noch mal hier hin – von Marie-Christine.
    Vier stern fehlen nun im Nachthimmel űber Lairoux. Diese haben wir Annette und Jason verlieben fűr die freundlichkeit und herzlichkeit, fűr die tolle atmosphäre im Maison und fűr die perfekte einrichtung der gites. Deise vierten stern erhalten sie von Lucie & Marie-Christine fűr den wundervollen pool und das spielzimmer. Auf ein Wiedersehen.

    Peter, Sarah, Emily,Charlie & Oscar – Ringwood Hants
    We’ve had a lovely week although not been very adventurous! Loved the beach at Les Conches and strolling around Tranche-sur-Mer. Aquarium at La Rochelle good for a rainy day, if you can prise the kids from the brilliant games room! Plan to do Puy du Fou next Year! Thank You.

    Eli, Zak, Kobe, Anita & Dan – London
    The Donjon at the Puy du Fou

    Jason and Annette! We didn’t want to go. I loved the swimming pool. Me, Zak and Kobi loved the games room. We loved it here Thank You XXX

    John, Chloe, Henry & Annabelle Lloyd, Peter & Shirley – Colchester Essex
    We have had a very enjoyable holiday here. The weather has been great. Accommodation and facilities for the children have been excellent. We love the area and have enjoyed days out at the Indian Forest, Coulon, Chateau des Aventuriers and the beaches at La Tranche. Jason and Annette have been fantastic hosts and we hope to return here again in the future. It’s been really great P and S. I’ve made some really good friends. Henry.

    Paul, Cathy, Bethany & Robbie – Cardiff
    Fabulous Gite. Fabulous hosts. Fabulous holiday experience. Looking forward to next year already.

    Steve, Tara, Tom & Sophie – Surrey
    Buster at Maison Lairoux

    Our stays with you just keep getting better and better. The gites are still as comfy. clean and well presented as when we first stayed. We fell like they are our own holiday home!! As ever your hospitality is second to none. Sophie said the highlight of her holiday was the party and the food you laid on for her birthday. We will definitely be back.

    Lynn, Neil, Megan & Lara – Ascot Berkshire
    A big thank you to Jason and Annette for a wonderful holiday. The gite is lovely and we have all really enjoyed the pool and games room. Lara will be talking about the kittens for months to come! Le Puy du Fou was brilliant! Your hospitality has been much appreciated and we look forward to visiting again.

    Stuart, Jo, James, Robert, Scott & Ellie – Hayling Island
    Well, without any dramas to test poor Annette and Jason, we have had a most fantastic week. Children entertained by others and cats, so parents able to kick back and relax. NO Skim-boarding this year Wonder Why!! There is no other gite that offers such excellent facilities with such great hosts. A real home from home. Thanks again Annette and Jason XX

    Fiona, Tony, Henry, Abby & Hugo – Windsor
    Shaded Canal at the Marais Poitevin

    We have had a fab week here in the gite. Annette and Jason have been fantastic hosts pointing us in the right direction for all the things to do locally. Can really recommend the beaches at La Faute sur Mer and Bourgenay, and the aquarium at La Rochelle is great. We also visited the Ile de Re for pizza and ice-cream which is worth seeing. Of course the kids really just wanted to hang out by the pool and play with the kittens!! Gite just perfect - everything here for a really relaxed stay. Thank you.

    Leslie, Carol & Darren – Jersey
    What more can we say 'Simply Wonderful' All the very best for the future.

    The Partridge Family – Middlesex
    Wonderful place and very good hosts. Thank You Jason and Annette for your great recommendations of where to go. We visited Puy du Fou for our 6 year old and had a fabulous time. Jason's recommendation of the 'Oiseaux Phantome' show was good. Went to La Rochelle to see towers and have a slap up lunch (we also saw the outside of the submarine pens there - 'Das Boot' here we come...) Visited Maillezais to see ruined abbey and hired a punt (note our punter said how the base was very muddy so progress was slow) We also went to Saint Vincent beach - not crowded with areas of shade so very good - and would recommend Angles near there for a drink and some v.typical french village life. Church at Angles v.interesting with Plantagenet architecture v.rare. (Kittens an added bonus for our 6 year old too!).

    Rupert, Tory, Jonty & Hattie – North Yorkshire
    Fun at the Indian Adventure Park

    We had a fantastic week. Jason and Annette are brilliant hosts, beautiful home cooked meals on the first two nights and loads of tips and advice as to where to go really appreciated. Gite, pool, gardens all lovely. Games Room and Kittens!! a hit with the children. This is a wonderful place for everyone to be able to relax-spacious but secure! Really recommend Puy du Fou, Les Conches beach and cycling at Coulon. We will be back to explore some more! Thank you for everything.

    Nicola, Andrew, William & Samuel – Hertfordshire
    There are multiple glowing comments from prior guests at Maison Lairoux and now having experienced for ourselves we wholeheartedly agree. Jason and Annette are fantastic hosts and we have been made to feel like long lost friends with superb hospitality. I will not have enough space to say how good it has been, but lets start with saying our twin boys have loved it. The gite, gardens, pool, local area, beaches, markets, La Rochelle, wine have all been superb but final thanks to Jason and Annette, you are superb hosts and thank you so much.

    Rachel, Mark, Eloise & Libby – Derbyshire
    Lovely welcome after a long journey - much appreciated. Eloise & Libby want to say "This is a wonderful place". We have had a lovely week just relaxing on the beaches. We would recommend 'Velo-rail' - it was great fun and a big hit with the children. We swam in the sea and Eloise went in the pool here in October so have had a great week and been lucky with the weather. Jason and Annette have been superb hosts, have let us relax and all the best for the future. We would all love to come back sometime.

    Familles Branger, Hogdé, Delaunay, Chardon - Angers, Nantes et Brie - Réveillon du 1er de l'an 2010
    Winter in Lairoux

    Nous avons passé un agréable séjour entre amis. Accueil chaleureux, maisons confortables & bien equipées. Bonne continuation à nous deux et très bonne année 2010
  • 2008

    Guest Reviews 2008



    Sarah, Louis & Heidi – Melton Mowbray
    Springtime at Maison Lairoux

    We needed a break for some time out from our lives back home. We immediately felt at home due to the warm welcome we received. Annette & Jason were full of useful information and always on hand – above & beyond the call of duty. The gites – we stayed in Le Vieux Café – were immaculately clean and equipped. The pool was closed during our stay but there was more than enough to keep the children occupied.
    The nearby beaches are fantastic. As a single parent, this was my first trip abroad alone and I would strongly recommend it to any other single parent families. Annette is an amazing cook and Jason is a generous host and a big hit with the children. We have made some great friends. We hope to be back later this year!

    The Robinsons & The Biggs & Three Children – Essex
    Very enjoyable break. Gite lovely. Annette lovely. Area lovely. Weather nice – we’ll definitely come back!

    Carl, Fiona, Lucy & William – Jersey
    The Ruined Abbey at Maillezais

    We have had a very happy week and have found there is a lot to do. We have enjoyed playing in the garden, in the playroom and in our gite. We have had very busy days and have visited lots of fun places. We have eaten lots of lovely meals. Mummy & Daddy’s tummies have got bigger. Daddy said next time we will stay for two weeks! (Lucy, aged 6)

    Nicola, Simon, William & Percy – Oxfordshire
    A wonderful week: enjoyed sunshine and beach days on the Ile de Re, followed by raincoats and the car museum near Les Sables. But what else for April? Discovered the Vendee wines – white particularly good for us! Don’t try the La Rochelle Aquarium on a wet day! Hour & half queue!
    A wonderfully warm, clean and well equipped gite. And such a warm welcome. We hope to return!

    Sharon, Andy, Beth & Charlie – Surrey
    We have had a fantastic week, some beach days and some days out. There is so much to do, this is a fantastic location, what a view! We have been so welcome here; very child friendly, the games room is a great asset. We will be recommending the gite to all our family & friends, it has absolutely everything.

    Tara, Laurent & Elia – Sri Lanka
    The Puy du Fou Theme Park

    Wow – what a place!! As a well-travelled family we were amazed at the level of accommodation and ‘extras’ on offer, such as the games room and the well-stocked kitchen+++. It was a perfect end to a long break from Sri Lanka & Annette & Jason are fantastic hosts and it felt like we were visiting friends rather than staying in a gite – you are on to a winner here and we will be waxing lyrical to all our French & British family & friends. Thank you for everything and we wish you every future success!

    Olivier, Timothee & Alix – Margaux, France
    Trop top!! Super sympa de passer quelques jours avec la famille ici. Vous avez une tres jolie propriete et vous etes tres acceuillants! J’en parlerai avec tous mes amis, merci pour tout!!

    Nigel, Katie, Harry, Josh & Toby - Surrey

    What a wonderful place, so peaceful, and everything we need (and more) with a fantastically equipped gite and great games room enjoyed by all of our boys – especially the Xbox and table tennis. And the pool…the inflatables were fun as was the use of buckets & spades when we went to La tranche sur Mer. Lovely couple of gift shops there. Had an amazing day at Puy du Fou – highly recommend but get there at 10am. Also the boys loved the Indian Adventure park – good value for money and great fun. Great meal at La Viviera Pizzeria in Mareuil. Your welcome meal was delicious and much appreciated. Sky TV much appreciated as was the laptop so we could check weather and do some work! All in all a fantastic holiday. Thanks for everything.

    Eamon, Sinead, Jack & Ben - St Albans
    The Pleasure Harbour at Port Bourgenay

    Many thanks for the warm welcome. It’s a home from home. I cannot think of anything that was not made available for our stay. The gite, the playroom & pool were great and for the first time in some years I wish we had another weeks hols! Look forward to seeing you again next year.

    Aurélia & Guillaume – France
    Tous nos remerciements pour nous avoir accueillis dans votre magnifique maison! Nous commençons notre nouvelle vie en tout qu’époux après de merveilleux instants dans cette maison!

    Adam, Nicola & Christian – Haywards Heath
    We’ve had a great time visiting the region and staying at your gite. The beaches are wonderful and, if the weather is a bit off, plenty to do – Zoo at Les Sables, Aquarium at La Rochelle, punting at Coulon. Good luck with the vegetable patch (I’m very jealous!) and thanks very much.

    Jan & Eddie – Leicestershire
    Sunflower Close up

    Thank you Annette & Jason for a wonderful break. Your hospitality & 100% well equipped gite is really really outstanding. Allowing for the ‘on & off’ weather we did enjoy discovering the Vendée and we are going home with loads of ideas for the family.

    Mike, Tina, Trudy, Katie, Phil, Sydney, Samantha & Steve – Nottingham
    Thank you very much for making our stay very enjoyable. The hospitality is outstanding. The gite has everything you need to make your holiday complete and we found that it was very child friendly (Which Jason helps to achieve!). The welcome meal and leaving breakfast was fantastic and well appreciated.

    Will, Helen, Oliver, Max & Emily – Oxford
    A wonderful visit for the second time to Maison Lairoux. Emily is crying, she does not want to leave at all! In fact, none of us wanted to leave! Emily loved helping Annette with some jam and gardening, and Jason with the pool. We strongly recommend the Indian Adventure Park, especially the climbing as we all loved it. There has been babysitting from Jason & Annette. We were pleased Jason & Annette’s 100% hospitality helped a lot! The apartments were exquisite, so luxurious! (Max, aged 9)

    Michele, Stuart, Ethan & Eloise (Mimi)
    Making Jam at Maison Lairoux
    Thank you for a lovely holiday. Your gite is lovely and very well organized with everything you could possibly need. The kids really enjoyed themselves and the freedom they have is great. We also enjoyed ourselves and I am sure we will be back.

    Carol, Jason, Holly, Megan & Joshua – York
    We have had a truly lovely week. The gite is very comfortable and well equipped. Jason & Annette are the perfect hosts, very friendly, with a huge amount of local knowledge. The pool and games room have been fantastic for the children who have enjoyed playing there with the other children who were staying. We have enjoyed the beach at La Terriere which was great for body boarding. We also liked our visit to Claude’s wine Cave. Many thanks, we’ll definitely tell our friends!

    Tara, Steve, Tom & Sophie – Epsom
    From the Vendee with Love

    Another fantastic holiday. Thank you so much, Jason & Annette. The gite is immaculate and fantastically well equipped as last year. Tom & Sophie have spent all year looking forward to coming back here and they weren’t disappointed. They have had great fun playing with Louis & Heidi and also a big thank you to Jason for playing continuous Connect 4 with Sophie. We had a fabulous BBQ. See you next year!!

    Bruce, Sue, Cerys & Maegan – Huddersfield
    What a great place! Lovely gite & welcome from Jason & Annette, for whom nothing is too much trouble. Great days out at the beaches (Les Conches, St Vincent sur Jard), Ile de Re, La Rochelle days out & lazy days around the pool…take your pick!! The BBQ & Mexican meals were fantastic & made the first day (BBQ) & last day (Mexican) arriving & departing un-complicated!

    Graeme, Jenny, Matthew & Hal – Yately
    Lovely, comfortable gite. Fantastic pool. Very welcoming hosts! Annette makes the most wonderful chocolate cake…. La Rochelle worth a vis. Les Conches good for body boarding. Really enjoyed the wine tasting visit to the local Cave with Jason & Annette. Restaurants we tried – Auberge next to Château at St Cyr Talmondais – good. Chez Gegene at L’Aiguillon – good mussels.

    Stuart, Jo, James, Robert, Scott & Ellie – Hayling Island

    Well, what can we say? It was home from home and all the children loved it here. They are nagging us to book again as soon as we check out dates. Jason & Annette went way beyond the role of hosts after Jo’s stupid accident on the beach. (Don’t go skim boarding in your 40’s!) The attention to detail for the holiday maker is second to none – we have never stayed anywhere before where our every need has been met so well.

    Jan, Pete, Joe & Sarah – Hayling Island
    Thank you, we had a great time, you are great hosts & the gites are very well appointed. The help you gave us when Jo was injured was outstanding.

    Paul, Deb & Alex – Worcester
    This has been a very relaxing fortnight. The accommodation and pool were excellent. Thank you very much for our homemade blackberry crumble. It was really nice Annette.

    Chris, Sarah, Emily, Hannah & Beth – Harpenden
    Thanks so much for a fantastic 2 weeks. You’ve been amazing hosts & you’ve created something really special here at Maison Lairoux. We could easily stay another couple of weeks! See you next year!

    Russell, Lucinda, Theo & Luke – London

    Thank you for being great hosts. The boys loved the play room and cars & had lots of fun by the pool. The restaurants you recommended were all great and Annette your meal was superb. It felt like a home away from home.

    Penny, Andy, Fiona & Jean - Jersey
    We stayed in the 3 bedroom gite – fantastic, very spacious & all the small details that you usually don’t get that make such a big difference. The weather has been excellent, but if it hadn’t have been, we would still have had a good time! The meal on the first evening was excellent & a real bonus not having to cook when you arrive. A great location, tranquil, pretty, but close to all amenities & attractions. Thanks for a great week, see you next year – or sooner. Great hosts! Wine tasting fabulous! The pool was brilliant, Everything excellent!

    Sean, Trish, Aoife & Domhnall – Kinsale, Ireland
    Great holiday! Time went too fast – could use another week. Gite was brilliant – so well equipped (no need to bring anything!) Many great spots to visit – La Rochelle, lots of châteaux & lovely beaches. The pool and games room were fantastic! Finally, many thanks to our lovely hosts Jason & Annette – ye made our holiday very relaxed (We caught up on a lot of sleep!) Hope to see ye again soon!

    Roger, Michelle & Hugh, North Yorkshire

    What a lovely place & wonderful hosts! Having delayed our hols from June we couldn’t have had nicer weather. Beach at La Faute is the best – we spent many a day building sandcastles and chasing the waves. Poitiers was a trip too far for the little one but fortunately we’d been before & can recommend a grown-ups visit – along with Parthenay. Zoo at Sables d’Olonne very good for young ones – you can watch the otters swim underwater! Looking forward to our next visit already!

    Helen & Simon – London
    We had a great, relaxing time here. Perfect for a quiet few days away before our wedding! Despite the bad weather we found lots to do and & made the most of the gite & it's plentiful facilities. We would love to come back when we can use the pool! Thanks again Simon & Helen x
  • 2007

    Guest Reviews 2007



    Chris, Amelia & Toby Clark – Jersey
    Lavender in the Garden at Maison Lairoux

    Many thanks for an excellent short break! The accommodation was perfect as was the location. Ideal for those wishing to head up to the Châteaux of the Loire, the beach or simply wishing to relax. I never knew you could pack so much in to four days!

    Ian, Jane Natasha & Thomas – Jersey
    Thank you Annette & Jason for your wonderful hospitality and a very relaxing break in the most well equipped gite we have ever stayed in. Your facilities are a hit with teenagers and young children alike. Looking forward to returning.

    Jason, Triona & baby Ronan – Jersey
    Thanks a million Annette & Jason for your lovely welcome.
    The welcome dinner after our 4-hour journey was wonderful & the wine! Your gite has been perfect for our visit & has had everything we’ve needed for baby Ronan (4½ Months). Thanks for the advice & helpful tips to make the most of our day trips.

    Helen, Will, Oliver, Max & Emily – Oxford
    Seashells at La Tranche sur Mer

    Thank you for a great holiday! You are extremely hospitable and very friendly. We have all had a very relaxing holiday. The facilities and pool have been fantastic considering the weather! The children have had a lovely time and because of that, so have we! We are all very sorry to leave. Jason & Annette are the perfect hosts. Thank you very much for everything.

    Clark, Innes & Finlay – Connecticut, USA
    Jason & Annette – Thank you for being enthusiastic and attentive hosts. L’Ecurie is a wonderful gite, the furnishings are complete in all respects and the linen & towels were fabulous. The welcome dinner was a great start, especially to meet the other guests; the BBQ later with you was excellent. The swimming pool was excellent for all and the children enjoyed the games room and the Xbox 360!
    Beauty of the flora & fauna in the gardens was an unexpected surprise (esp. the baby owls!) Wireless internet access was over the top – we were able to check local weather, plan trips and check emails. TV & DVD also 1st rate. Proximity to many sites – especially local beaches made for a very memorable visit – this will be one holiday hard to beat (and this is our 7th summer holiday in France!) Expect you will be busy hosts all season!

    Tara, Steve, Tom & Sophie – Surrey
    Fields of Golden Sunflowers in the Vendee

    Thank you for a wonderful holiday. The gite is a real home from home and is perfect in all respects. We have stayed in France several times over the past few years and this is definitely the cleanest and best appointed. You have been fantastic hosts and the children also have loved playing with you – thank you for the childcare! Sophie even learnt to swim in your pool. The playroom and Xbox has also been a great hit with the kids – a real unique and added bonus.

    Craig, Iona & Indigo – Ipswich
    A thoroughly enjoyable holiday. The gite and facilities were excellent as were the hosts! We will certainly be back for more.

    Cathryn, Stephen & Lucy – Leicester
    A very relaxing week! The accommodation & facilities were excellent with everything we could possibly need on hand. Your hospitality was faultless too – thank you!

    Rachel, Paul & Charlie – St Albans
    The Estuary at L'Aiguillon sur Mer

    Thank you for a lovely week! The gite was a perfect venue for us and our 19-month-old son, with everything we needed and more. We especially enjoyed our trips to the local beach, thanks for the recommendations.

    Sarah, Justin, Megan, Jessica & Gracie – Cambridge
    Many thanks – accommodation & hospitality both excellent. Favourites were the pool, table tennis & dressing up clothes. The waves at La Terriere were excellent, if a little dangerous! Aquarium at La Rochelle – great, but don’t go on a wet day!

    Jenny, Sam & Nigel – Gomersal
    A very enjoyable stay. Accommodation & hospitality excellent. Very relaxing & everything you could wish to make your holiday enjoyable.

    Ian, Tracey, Will, Matt & Ellie – Wokingham
    Many thanks for providing a very comfortable, clean & well equipped holiday home. You have, and are continuing, to put a lot of effort into ensuring that people have a wonderful holiday – and are proving to be very good at it! We found that this holiday property caters for all ages, so ideal for the spread of ages in our children. So congratulations! We are sure you will do very well.

    Bev, Aiden, Sarah & Rachel – Church Strettan
    Busy Market at La Rochelle

    We enjoyed the pool a great deal. We also enjoyed visiting some of the villages and towns on or near the coast. The beach at St Vincent sur Jard was particularly nice. The peace & tranquillity of Lairoux were complemented by the hospitality of Annette & Jason. Thank you for helping make our visit to France enjoyable & relaxing. À bientôt.

    Phil, Becky, Alice & Lucy – Guildford
    A lovely place to spend our holiday, especially the pool and the games room. We enjoyed our welcome meal, and the girls will miss Iris when we go home! Some of our favourite places: Coulon – we did a boat trip with a guide (it didn’t matter that our French isn’t great!) The garden at La Court D’Aron was great and the lotus flowers were very pretty. We loved the adventure trail at Château de la Guignardière. Our favourite beach is Les Conches because it’s big & sandy! Also children’s activities at Talmont Castle, especially crossbow shooting! Took wine home from Marie du Fou (Mareuil)

    Kevin, Claire & Iris – Ware
    The best holiday home we’ve stayed in. Plus we loved the pool, the games room & proximity to the sea. Iris will miss following Alice around & being bossy to Lucy! Many thanks for the lovely opening night meal. We would recommend the beaches at Les Sables D’Olonnes and St Vincent sur Jard. Plus we loved Fontenay-le-Comte (and it’s château), Talmont castle and beautiful Vouvant. Thanks to Jason & Annette for being so friendly & helpful. Final word to Iris (6) – it was very good. We had a wonderful time.

    Gareth, Suzanne, Geriant, Carys & Elis – Kenilworth
    Sunflower

    Thank you for an enjoyable and relaxing stay. The accommodation and hospitality were excellent. Plenty to do in the surrounding area – we enjoyed the boat ride at La Rochelle, the Indian Park and beach. The children loved the pool and play room most of all and didn’t want to leave!

    Richard, Claire, Olivia, William & Isabel – Wareham
    We’ve all enjoyed our stay here and are very sorry to leave. Our favourite beach is Les Conches although the children kept nagging to return to the pool. The gite is equipped with everything we required and more – the children particularly enjoying the Xbox. Jason & Annette, you’ve been great hosts. Thank you for everything.

    Claire, Will & Charlotte – Oxford
    We’ve had a fabulous week. Thanks to Jason & Annette for making us feel so welcome and for all your useful information about things to do in the area. We felt more like friends than guests and think you’ve got the balance just right. The gite is well equipped and the facilities very well thought out. Charlotte particularly enjoyed the aquarium at a Rochelle and the beach at La Faute was excellent – as were the moules frites! The pool is fantastic & Annette you’re a great chef – we thoroughly enjoyed our meal. We’re impressed and definitely hope to return.

    Catherine, Katy, Sam & Will – London
    We’ve had a wonderful relaxing stay. The house had much more than we ever expected. The surrounding area is beautiful & with such a lovely base from which to explore. It is hard to imagine us coming anywhere else but back next year!

    Janet, James & Eleanor – Sheffield
    The Beach at La Tranche sur Mer

    We have had a very relaxing and enjoyable week. The gite is so well equipped – a real home from home. You really have thought of everything! It was a real relief not to have to bring all of the baby kit & the Sky TV was excellent for relatively new parents who don’t go out in the evenings! We have really enjoyed exploring, particularly Fontenay-le-Comte and La Rochelle, where Eleanor squealed at the fish in the aquarium! Hopefully we’ll return in the summer sometime, to test out the pool. Thanks very much for being friendly & attentive hosts.

    Denis & Marion Caruana, Guernsey
    What an amazing, beautiful place! The Gite is literally from home to home, with all the detail you can imagine. We spent a wonderful week even though it was the first week in December (In our opinion this Gite can be visited all year round). There is so much to do and so many beautiful places to visit. The location is superb for all type of excursions. We recommend visiting Futuroscope which was unforgettable and original, La Rochelle is very beautiful and the Aquarium is also very good.
    Annette was of great help at informing us of any points of interest. We can keep on going but it's simply a wonderful location, gorgeous accommodation and fantastic hosts!!




Annette & Jason Khan
Maison Lairoux Holiday Homes
3 rue de la Motte, 85400 Lairoux, France

Maison Lairoux Holiday Homes




Tel:
00 33 (0)2 51 28 43 98
Mobile: 00 33 (0)6 43 37 87 74
Siret: 53011496600019

This website uses “cookies” to help us provide a better user experience. Please note, if cookies are disabled, the online browsing experience may be limited.
We do not use cookies to track individuals or to store sensitive information such as your name, address or credit card details. For more details, see our Privacy Policy